Users, Groups, Roles, and Privileges

When you want to work in Hippo CMS, you need to login as a certain user. Your CMS administrator will set up a user account for you and add you to at least one user group. Through the groups you are a member of, certain roles are assinged to you in certain areas of the CMS. Each role represents a set of privileges a user in that role has. Make sure you know which role you are allowed to play in the CMS.

The following default groups and roles are defined in Hippo CMS:

Group Role Where? Privileges
author author All content
  • Create and modify folders
  • Create and modify documents
  • Upload and modify images
  • Upload and modify assets
  • Request publication of documents
  • Request taking offline of documents
editor editor All content
  • All privileges of the author group
  • Approve or reject publication requests
  • Approve or reject take offline requests
  • Publish documents directly
  • Take documents offline directly
webmaster editor All channels
  • Create channels (if blueprints are configured)
  • Modify page templates in a channel
  • Create and modify pages in channels (if prototype pages configured)
  • Publish channel
admin admin Everywhere
  • All privileges of author, editor, and webmaster groups
  • Manage users
  • Manage groups
  • Manage permissions
  • Run update scripts
  • Modify system configuration (through the Console)

The default groups are just a starting point. An actual Hippo CMS instance may have different groups configured with more fine-grained privileges (for example, a group "news editors" may have the "editor" role only in the "news" folder, but not in other folders).